I Am Korra

tumblr_napxtePDkL1qgsftxo1_1280

 

I’ve related to Korra since the show first came out,  every episode I related with her more and more. She is a tom boy, determined, a leader, but she is also bad at some things she didn’t learn right away how to air bend and she struggles with being gentle. She is a rough person and scared of talking in front of crowds, she only excels in that when adrenaline helps fuel her decisions. Now at the end of Book 3 Korra is broken, she is broken, filled with pain, she is depressed and alone. 

Now I may not have super powers or the ability to bring honor to us all but I am broken. I am a tom boy, I struggle to control my temper and my hand for violence and lately i’ve taken on a airbender attitude to help still my firbender soul. Like Korra I am terrified of my future and my responsibilities and I have more then my fair share weighing me down. 

I am trying to deal with so much going on in my life, so much change and so many conflicts and obstacles that rock me to my core. I’ve had my fair share of days where I didn’t move a inch and my other days where I cried for hours, adversity is a challenge to over come and these summer i’ve been broken in so many ways i am surprised I am still breathing. 

Korra feels so broken right now, her heart and body are broken and she needs time to heal. She is ashamed of how broken she is compared to how she did used to hold her head high. I can relate on so many levels to many aspects of her personality and her life, I too am broken and I feel so hollow and empty inside. I’ve walked around these past two months with the same expression as Korra has on her face. 

But Korra will draw strength from her pain, and so will I. We will both emerge stronger then before, and though I know I will lose myself to despair over and over again. I will eventually be okay and I will watch Korra’s journey and use her as a role model to stand tall again and be the best version of myself that I can be. 

“A woman’s strength isn’t just about how much she can handle before she breaks. It’s also about how much she must handle after she’s broken.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

